KING – The Story [EP] (2011)

official website | | itunes

not only has this L.A. trio taken me by surprise, but it seems most of the music world too. all this sudden attention is apparently due to ?uestlove (of The Roots) and Phonte (of Foreign Exchange & Little Brother) co-signing em via tweets. and thus witness, the power of the Internets! yes we can be mean bastards online, but we also throw our collective weight behind undeniably beautiful music when we hear it. case in point: KING.

KING are: Anita J. Bias, Amber Tenae Strother, Paris Nicole Strother

their sound is a hybrid of traditional soul & electro-soul (+ hints of “chillwave” here n there on the production tip). some of the harmonies (while all of them gorgeous) reminds me of Stevie. i feel that as we push on into the future of music, the most productive way forward is by trying to consolidate all eras of music in whatever genres tickle ur fancy, and come up with a rich aural landscape to compliment the words. le example, the title track of the EP: The Story. instead of further trying to dissect the genre make-up of the group, i’ma say the shit’s just damn SOULFUL and K.I.M.

Hey kinda reminds me of a downtempo acoustic number that Tweet coulda made (not to be confused with Twitter, i’m talkin bout Charlene “Tweet” Keys). and here for ur enjoyment, streamed straight from King‘s own Soundcloud page, is my fav track from the 3 song EP: Supernatural. the way it LIFTS halfway through and continues to keep on building is just so beautiful that continuing to describe it will result in my making this moment gheyer than it has to be. just listen and hear for urself 🙂


01. the story (4:10)
02. supernatural (4:33)
03. hey (4:27)

there are links to buy the album up top underneath the EP cover, also hit em up on their Facebook page n show some love. even my non-music-buying ass wants a physical copy of this…lushness. the songs were written by all 3 women and produced by Paris. they’re slowly taking over the Internet at the moment, get on board NOW so you can enjoy the ride.


The Waldorf And Statler Experience – Balcony Music Vol. Three: The Ballad of CJ Memphis

so my good buddies and legit uber-talents DVS & tREBLEFREE have quietly been releasing some of the dopest, most FUN hip hop joints i’ve heard in quite a while under the Balcony Music banner as The Waldorf And Statler Experience (yes it’s the old guy movie critic muppets, and i know what ur thinking: the name is freakn genius. and it is…freakn genius). dudes, if ur reading this, The Death Of Sarge is fucking AMAZING. u guys continuously exceed my expectations. support indy. download this. it’s shmick.  IT’S FREE. what more u want.

01. the ballad of cj memphis (3:23)
02. matter of time (feat. thaione davis) (3:50)
03. possible (feat. malakh el) (3:20)
04. bounce (4:25)
05. comin’ on strong (feat. rellevent & jerry banilow) (3:50)
06. the death of sarge (5:01)

(via bandcamp)

“at my worst? i’m a heathen. at my best? i’m a scholar”, –DVS.